Legal Notice No. 241

## REPUBLIC OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO

The Environmentally Sensitive Species Rules, 2001

## **NOTIFICATION**

INTENTION TO MAKE A NOTICE DESIGNATING FIVE (5) SEA TURTLES [LEATHERBACK TURTLE (DERMOCHELYS CORIACEA), GREEN TURTLE (CHELONIA MYDAS), OLIVE RIDLEY TURTLE (LEPIDOCHELYS OLIVACEA), LOGGERHEAD TURTLE (CARETTA CARETTA) AND HAWKSBILL TURTLE (ERETMOCHELYS IMBRICATA)] AS ENVIRONMENTALLY SENSITIVE SPECIES

It is hereby notified that the Environmental Management Authority ("the Authority"), in exercise of the power granted to it by section 41 of the Environmental Management Act, 2000 ("the Act") proposes to make a Notice designating the following five (5) sea turtles as Environmentally Sensitive Species ("the Proposed Notice"):

- (1) Leatherback turtle (Dermochelys coriacea);
- (2) Green turtle (Chelonia mydas);
- (3) Olive Ridley turtle (Lepidochelys olivacea);
- (4) Loggerhead turtle (Caretta caretta); and
- (5) Hawksbill turtle (Eretmochelys imbricata).

And take notice that the Authority, pursuant to rule 5(4) of the Environmentally Sensitive Species Rules, 2001 ("the Rules"), now invites written submissions from the public with respect to the Proposed Notice and pursuant to rule 5(6) of the Rules, such submissions shall contain the grounds therefore and may include additional modifications or amendments to give effect to the submissions.

And take notice that the Proposed Notice is available to the public for viewing on the Authority's website at www.ema.co.tt and at the following offices from 8.00 a.m. to 4.00 p.m., Monday to Friday from Monday 4th November, 2013 to Friday 13th December, 2013:

- (a) the Environmental Management Authority, No. 8 Elizabeth Street, St. Clair, Port-of-Spain;
- (b) the Environmental Management Authority, No. 2 Dumfries Road, La Romain, San Fernando;

(Caretta Caretta) and Hawksbill turtle (Eretmochelys Imbricata)] as Environmentally Sensitive Species

- (c) the Environmental Management Authority, Eastern Main Road, Tunapuna;
- (d) Forestry Division Office, Guaico;
- (e) Forestry Division Office, Cumuto;
- (f) Forestry Division Office, National Parks Section, Farm Road, St. Joseph;
- (g) Port-of-Spain City Corporation, 2-4, Knox Street, Port-of-Spain;
- (h) Tobago House of Assembly, Environment Division, Scarborough, Tobago;
- (i) Tobago Inland Revenue Division, Roxborough, Tobago;
- (j) Buccoo Reef Trust, Cowie's Building, Carnbee Junction, Auchenskeoch Road, Carnbee;
- (k) Environment Tobago Office, 11, Cuyler Street, Scarborough;
- (1) Sangre Grande Revenue Office, Toco Main Road, Sangre Grande;
- (m) Chaguanas Borough Corporation, Cumberbatch Street, Chaguanas;
- (n) San Fernando City Corporation, City Hall, Harris Promenade, San Fernando;
- (o) Arima Borough Corporation, 8, Hollis Avenue, Arima;
- (p) Diego Martin Regional Corporation, Orchid Drive, Morne Coco Road, Petit Valley;
- (q) Mayaro/Rio Claro Regional Corporation, High Street, Rio Claro;
- (r) Tunapuna/Piarco Regional Corporation, Centenary Street, Tunapuna;
- (s) Couva/Tabaquite/Talparo Regional Corporation, Railway Road, Couva;
- (t) Princes Town Regional Corporation, Hosein Building, High Street, Princes Town;
- (u) Siparia Regional Corporation, High Street, Siparia;

Intention to make a Notice designating five (5) sea turtles [Leatherback turtle (Dermochelys Coriacea), Green turtle (Chelonia Mydas), Olive Ridley turtle (Lepidochelys Olivacea), Loggerhead turtle (Caretta Caretta) and Hawksbill turtle (Eretmochelys Imbricata)] as Environmentally Sensitive Species

- (v) Point Fortin Borough Corporation, Town Hall, George Street, Mahaica, Point Fortin;
- (w) Toco Foundation, Victoria Pritchard Resource Centre, Galera Road, Toco;
- (x) SAD for Toco, Light Pole No. 1005, Paria Main Road, Toco;
- (y) Turtle Village Trust, Grande Riviere; and
- (z) Nature Seekers Inc., 10¼ Mile Mark, Toco Main Road, Matura.

And take notice that submissions on the Proposed Notice shall be made from Monday 4th November, 2013 to Friday 13th December, 2013 and must be addressed to the Corporate Secretary, Environmental Management Authority, No. 8 Elizabeth Street, St. Clair, Port-of-Spain.

Dated this 29th day of October, 2013.

G. NORGRIFF
Corporate Secretary,
Environmental Management Authority