Social Development signs MOU with IGOVTT

Members of the public will soon have the ability to access social welfare and other services of the Ministry of Social Development and Family Services at any of the seven ttconnect Service Centres located across Trinidad and Tobago. Such services will include applying for grants under the Social Welfare Division, such as Senior Citizens Pension, Disability and Public Assistance Grants, Food Support, grants under the National Social Development Programme (NSDP), namely electrical and plumbing grants; and services for older persons under the Geriatric Adolescent Partnership Programme (GAPP).  This new arrangement was sealed when the Ministry of Social Development and Family Services and iGovTT formalised their mutual interaction through the signing of a Memorandum of Understanding at the Ministry’s Head Office, St Vincent Street, Port of Spain on January 28th, 2019.

Among other things, this new arrangement will seek to improve service delivery and access to social welfare services through traditional and non-traditional service delivery channels. These channels include ttconnect’s online portal, mobile portal, service centres, express buses, a toll-free number 800-8826, email services, self-service kiosks and LiveChat opportunities via ttGovChat and the soon to be introduced ChatBot. Users will therefore benefit from accessing timely and accurate information at their own convenience.

During the brief ceremony, Permanent Secretary at the Ministry, Jacinta Bailey-Sobers and iGovTT’s Chief Executive Officer, Kirk Henry, both expressed their delight at the finalisation of the MOU and the expected benefits to the vulnerable citizens of our nation.  According to PS Bailey-Sobers, the initiative, though long in coming, will help to ensure that there is an improvement in service delivery as the Ministry seeks to become a customer-driven, high performing organisation through service excellence. iGovTT’s CEO, Kirk Henry, indicated that the MOU aligns with iGovTT’s strategic plan which seeks to further the national ICT plan by adding value and improving the lives of the citizens of Trinidad and Tobago.

The signing ceremony was witnessed by the Ministry’s Deputy Permanent Secretary (Ag.), Vijay Gangapersad and Head of ttconnect, Edson Eastmond, who indicated that he looks forward to working with the Ministry to ensure that the services are available to clients both in-person and online. Deputy Director of the Social Welfare Division, Christine John-Guy, National Director of the National Social Development Programme, Patricia De Leon-Henry, Legal Officer Vinash Marajh and ICT Director Alvin Dain were among other key staff of the Ministry who also present at the signing.

ttconnect Service Centres are located within seven communities, namely, Arima, Bon Accord, Tobago, Chaguanas, Curepe, Princes Town, Sangre Grande and St. James.



No data
  • glqxz9283 sfy39587stf02 mnesdcuix8