Ministers & Education executives visit education district offices

The Honourable Anthony Garcia, Minister of Education and Dr. the Honourable Lovell Francis, Minister of State in the Ministry of Education led a delegation of senior Ministry of Education officials on visits to the Victoria and St. Patrick Education District Offices on Tuesday 27th March, 2018.

The latest visits are part of an ongoing initiative by the senior leadership of the Ministry of Education (MOE) to improve the education system by interacting with School Supervisors, Curriculum and Student Support Services Division and other Officers to ascertain their views as to how to achieve this goal. The MOE’s senior leadership also toured the two Education District Offices and got a first-hand look at the infrastructural and other challenges faced by these officers in the execution of their duties.

Addressing the officers at the Victoria and St. Patrick Education District Offices, Minister Garcia stressed their importance in the education system by assisting teachers and principals to ensure that students receive quality teaching. He also urged them to take the lead in implementing critical policies such as the School Based Management, School Development Plan, Clinical Supervision, fostering parental and community engagement, discipline and strengthening literacy and numeracy.

The Honourable Dr. Lovell Francis, Minister of State in the Ministry of Education also addressed group of senior educators urging them to ensure the MOE’s agenda is implemented to benefit the nation’s students. Permanent Secretary Lenor Baptiste-Simmons, highlighted the importance for collaboration among School Supervision, Curriculum and Student Support Services Division, while Chief Education Officer, Harrilal Seecharan advised the MOE officials to concentrate on helping the academically weak students by bringing them up to the required academic level to ensure that they succeed at the secondary school level.

The Minister and Executives of the Ministry expressed appreciation to the District Office representatives on their dedication and commitment to their profession, despite prevailing challenges such as infrastructural and other issues.

The other members of the senior MOE team who visited the respective Education District Offices were Deputy Permanent Secretaries Sharon Ashman-John and Kurt Meyers, Advisor to Minister Garcia Cheryl Ann-Wilkinson, Head of the Education Facilities Planning and Procurement Division Wayne Cupid, Head of the Curriculum Division, John Roopchan.


No data
  • glqxz9283 sfy39587stf02 mnesdcuix8