Minister of National Security presents Instruments of Appointment of Members of the Protective Services Compensation Committee

Port of Spain: On Monday July 26, 2021, Minister of National Security the Honourable Fitzgerald Hinds M.P. presented new members of the Protective Services Compensation Committee (PSCC) with their Instruments of Appointment. The brief presentation ceremony took place at the Ministry of National Security Head Office in Port of Spain.

Minister Hinds took the opportunity to underline the important role of the Committee in the area of national security. He thanked all members for accepting the call to give service to the nation via their appointment to this Committee, which they do in addition to their regular duties.

The appointed Committee members are:

1)   Mr. John Heath – Chairman

2)   Mr. Cedric Neptune – Secretary

3)   Dr. Wayne Ramgoolam – Member

4)   Dr. Keith Clifford – Member

5)   Mr. Kern Jackson – Member

The Protective Services Compensation Committee (PSCC) was established pursuant to the Protective Services Compensation Act, Chapter 23:60 and came into operation on June 16, 1997 by virtue of Section 5.

The objective of the Committee is to provide for the payment of compensation in respect of the officers of the Protective Services who suffer injury or die in circumstances arising out of and in the course of employment with the State. The Protective Services in this context refers to members of the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service, the Trinidad and Tobago Prison Service and the Trinidad and Tobago Fire Service.

Section 13 (1) of the Act sets out the functions of the Committee as follows:

a. To receive, investigate, hear and determine claims for compensation filed in accordance with this Act and the rules of the Committee made under Section 14, and to make such orders for compensation in accordance with the Second Schedule; and

b. To discharge any other responsibility that is required by the Act.

The Committee, under Section 5 (3) of the Act, comprises two (2) Attorneys-at-law as Chairman and Secretary respectively; and three (3) other members, two (2) of whom should be medical practitioners - one with at least four (4) years’ experience in the field of occupational health and safety and the other with at least seven (7) years as a medical practitioner. The third member is required to have at least three (3) years’ experience in the business of accident and health claims. Members of the Committee are appointed by the President by instrument, in writing, for a period of 3 years and on such terms and conditions as the President may determine.


glqxz9283 sfy39587stf02 mnesdcuix8
Error | Trinidad and Tobago Government News


The website encountered an unexpected error. Please try again later.