Minister of Health, NWRHA and TTRNA Agree on Strategies to Reduce Risk of COVID-19 at POSGH


Port of Spain, January 14th , 2021 – Today the Minister of Health, the Honourable Terrence Deyalsingh, a high-level Ministry team, and senior representatives from the North West Regional Health Authority (NWRHA) met with Mr. Idi Stuart, President of the Trinidad and Tobago Registered Nurses Association (TTRNA) and Ms. Letitia Cox, 2nd Vice President of the TTRNA, to discuss recent incidents of COVID-19 cases at the Port of Spain General Hospital (POSGH).

Discussions surrounded four main areas aimed at reducing the risk of the transmission of COVID-19 at the facility:

1.    Utilisation of COVID-19 rapid antigen tests to:

a.    test patients before admission

b.    increase COVID-19 staff testing, especially in instances where they have been potentially exposed to COVID-19;

2.    Reduction of the patient population to allow for increased social distancing;

3.    Increased nursing staff to patient ratio.

The meeting was cordial and productive as all parties were able to provide their perspectives and discuss solutions to challenges presented. There was general agreement to solutions provided for all four areas of concern.

The Honourable Terrence Deyalsingh, Minister of Health, committed to continued collaboration with the TTRNA and the NWRHA to address the concerns in the shortest timeframe possible. Ms. Salisha Baksh, CEO of NWRHA reported that certain recommendations arising from recent meetings with the TTRNA, such as the increased frequency of the sanitization of wards, had already been implemented.

The Chief Medical Officer, Dr. Roshan Parasram, highlighted the fact that healthcare workers are naturally at a higher risk of contracting COVID-19 than the general population and thus have been placed at the top of the list for the receipt of vaccines once they become available.

The Minister also reminded attendees of the mutual objective that all three organisations share – the wellbeing of all healthcare workers and of patients.



Meeting Attendees




Minister of Health

Mr. Terrence Deyalsingh

Permanent Secretary

Mr Asif Ali

Chief Medical Officer

Dr. Roshan Parasram

President, TTRNA

Mr. Idi Stuart

2nd Vice President, TTRNA

Ms. Letitia Cox

National Administrator, Nursing Services

Ms. Betty-Ann Pilgrim


Ms. Salisha Baksh

Director of Health, NWRHA

Dr. Anthony Parkinson

Medical Chief of Staff

Dr. Shaheeba Barrow

Head of IPC, NWRHA

Dr. Darrel Jones

Head of Department – Pathology, POSGH

Dr. Madhum Manjunath

Nursing Administrator II, POSGH

Ms. Jacqueline Dasent

glqxz9283 sfy39587stf02 mnesdcuix8
Error | Trinidad and Tobago Government News


The website encountered an unexpected error. Please try again later.