Letters of appointment presented to New Committee established to manage the NEC

Eleven representatives of Civil Society Organisations accepted the call to serve on a newly established management Committee for the National Enrichment Centre (NEC), located at Carlsen Field, Chaguanas.  Members were presented with their letters of appointment by the Honourable Cherrie-Ann Crichlow-Cockburn, Minister of Social Development and Family Services during a brief ceremony that took place on July 29, 2019 at the Ministry’s Head Office, St Vincent Street, Port of Spain.

During her brief address, Minister Crichlow-Cockburn thanked the members for their willingness and enthusiasm to serve on this very important committee, and assured them that the Ministry stands ready to assist the team in executing their mandate. She indicated that their contributions to this committee will also prove useful to this Ministry’s mandate for the implementation of some aspects of the National Policy for Persons with Disabilities. She also encouraged the members of the new committee to ensure that the NEC was utilized to its fullest potential.

The Committee, led by President of the Consortium of Disability Organisations – Jacqui Leotaud, is expected to serve for one year.  Other Committee members who received their letters of appointment were:

  • Dr Jacqueline Huggins, Manager Student Life and Development, Division of Student Services Development, University of the West Indies.(Deputy Chair)
  • Dr Beverley Beckles, Executive Director, National Centre for Persons with Disabilities
  • Mr. Phillip Metivier, President, Cerebral Palsy Society.
  • Mr Anton La Fond, Advocate for the Elderly and Persons with Disabilities
  • Ms Crystal Jones, President, Cerebral Palsy Association.
  • Mr. Camille Salloum
  • Ms. Nadira Muhammed
  • Ms Sharon Rogers, Director, Disabilities Affairs Unit, Ministry of Social Development and Family Services
  • Mrs. Geneve Phillip-Durham, Manager, National Enrichment Centre (Ex-officio member)

Ms Shamla Maharaj, Television Presenter and a representative from the Tobago House of Assembly are also members of the Committee.

The Committee’s terms of reference will include, inter alia:

  • Determining policy for the interim operations of the NEC as a Resource Centre;
  • Considering and granting approvals on requests for use of the NEC by stakeholders;
  • Contributing to the development of the Request for Proposals RFP for the procurement of an organisation to manage the NEC and provide appropriate recommendations to the Ministry of Social Development and Family Services;
  • Make recommendations on the provision of adequate, appropriate and affordable therapeutic services for persons with disabilities at the community level throughout the country;
  • Assist the Ministry of Social Development and Family Services with the implementation of the Community Therapeutic Services Programme for persons with disabilities;
  • Collaborate with the community organisations of and for persons with disabilities to determine a more suitable name for the Centre.

Following the presentation of letters, newly installed President Jacqui Leotaud said that she was honoured to lead such an important committee and expressed her commitment to ensuring that all persons with disabilities were given the opportunity to lead fulfilling lives and reach their fullest potential.

glqxz9283 sfy39587stf02 mnesdcuix8