Fair Trading Commission appointed – Justice Amrika Tiwary-Reddy to Chair

Caption: Minister of Trade, Industry, Investment and Communications, Senator the Honourable Vasant Bharath, congratulates newly appointed Chairperson Justice Amrika Tiwary-Redd. Looking on are Dr. Anne Marie Mohammed (right) and Dr. Ronald Ramkissoon (left), Fair Trading Commissioners. (Photo courtesy the Ministry of Trade, Industry, Investment and Communications)

July 9, 2014: ‘The issues that confront us, particularly cross border trading, make fair trading, and particularly that of the work of the Commission so relevant’ stated the Honourable Vasant Bharath, Minister of Trade, Industry, Investment and Communications at the short Distribution Ceremony for the appointment letters for the three Commissioners of the Fair Trading Commission, held at the Ministry’s Port of Spain Head Office on Wednesday 9th July, 2014.  

This is the first in a series of key steps to fully operationalize the Commission.


The Commission consists of three Commissioners, namely, Justice Amrika Tiwary-Reddy, Chairperson of the Commission; Dr. Ronald Ramkissoon and Dr. Anne Marie Mohammed.  The responsibilities of the Commissioners include, inter alia, the making of decisions on investigations conducted by the Commission staff; hearing any person or business which is likely to be affected by its decisions; and participating in consultations in national, regional and international fora. 

Dr. Tiwary-Reddy is a recipient of the Chaconia Medal Gold in the field of Law and most recently served as a Judge in the Supreme Court of Trinidad and Tobago; Dr. Ramkissoon is currently Republic Bank’s Senior Economist and Manager of its Economic Intelligence Unit; and Dr. Mohammed is a Lecturer in the Department of Economics, Faculty of Social Sciences, University of the West Indies.

The Trinidad and Tobago Fair Trading Act (the Act) was passed in 2006 as part of a wider Competition Policy that aims to protect, promote and encourage the competitive process. The Act complements other Government policies that promote competition, including those aimed at combating dumping and other unfair trading practices.  The Act provides for the establishment of a Fair Trading Commission which has the responsibility for promoting and maintaining fair competition in the domestic market.  The Commission is empowered to both investigate the various forms of anti-competitive business conduct set out in the Act and keep business conduct in Trinidad and Tobago under review, so as to become aware of restrictions or distortions of competition when they occur. 

At this time there are three similar national Commissions which exist in other CARICOM Member States.  These are the Barbados Fair Trading Commission, the Jamaica Fair Trading Commission and the Guyana Competition and Fair Trading Commission.  There is also a regional Commission established under the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas which treats with competition matters at a regional level.



For further information please contact:

Corporate Communications Unit,

Ministry of Trade, Industry, Investment and Communications

Level 17, Nicholas Tower  ●  63-65 Independence Square  ●  Port of Spain.

Tel: (868) 625-9947/623-2931 ext. 2714  

Vasant Bharath
Fair Trading Commission
Minister of Trade
Investment and Communications
glqxz9283 sfy39587stf02 mnesdcuix8
Error | Trinidad and Tobago Government News


The website encountered an unexpected error. Please try again later.