Discipline action plan for principals

The Ministry of Education remains unwavering in its efforts to equip all school administrators with the requisite skills and strategies to improve discipline in their schools. The most recent example is an initiative through the Laventille/Morvant Schools Improvement Project (LMSIP) where the principals and vice-principals of the twenty-five schools under the Project met to formulate a Discipline Action Plan for their schools.

Addressing participants at a workshop on Wednesday 12th to Thursday 13th February, 2020 at Russell Latapy Secondary School. School Supervisor III Michelle Carter said it is critical for LMSIP administrators to promote the Discipline School Manual. This is a standardised publication designed to assist them to create positive learning environments in their schools. “ The School Supervision and Management Division of the MOE has a standardised approach to moulding schools that are safe, nurturing and conducive to teaching and learning. We are starting with the Laventille/Morvant schools and then we will be looking at and spreading it out to the other schools nationally that may need intervention.”    

Commenting on the initiative organized by the Laventille/Morvant Schools Improvement Project (LMSIP), the Honourable Anthony Garcia, Minister of Education said the Ministry of Education takes the matter of ensuring school discipline very seriously and the implementation of the Discipline Action Plan by principals and vice-principals would help to maintain discipline in their schools.

The Discipline Action Plan Workshops is designed to have maximum impact in maintaining school discipline. It is a data driven system, where administrators examine the types of infractions and frequencies in their schools and come up with a discipline matrix.

The primary schools represented at the Discipline Action Plan Workshops are Escallier AC, Hokett Baptist, Morvant AC, St. Dominic’s RC, Success RC, Gloster Lodge Moravian, Chinapoo Government, Lower Morvant Government, Morvant New Government, Piccadilly Government, St. Barbs Government and St. Hilda’s Girls’ Government Primary, Rose Hill R.C, Our Lady of Laventille RC, Bethelehem Girls’ RC, Bethlehem Boys,’ Beetham Estate, Laventille Boys,’ Laventille Girls’ Government and St. Phillips Government Primary Schools.

glqxz9283 sfy39587stf02 mnesdcuix8
Error | Trinidad and Tobago Government News


The website encountered an unexpected error. Please try again later.