Community Recovery Committee and IDB to work on East Port-of-Spain Projects

15th January, 2021, Port-of-Spain: Members of the Community Recovery Committee met with two teams from the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) – The Housing and Urban Development and Public Management - in a virtual meeting on Tuesday 12th January, 2021. The meeting explored issues of Public Management and Housing and Urban Development for communities in East Port-of-Spain. The Community Recovery Committee and the IDB are working to develop projects to engage community stakeholders particularly in the areas of physical infrastructure and skills building.

            Mr Anthony Watkins, Chairman of the Community Recovery Committee said: "We are in many instances the tip of the spear, piloting new approaches and methods towards community recovery."

During one of the meetings, Mr Robin Rajack, IDB Senior Sector Specialist – Housing and Urban Development said he would like “opportunities to ensure that there is a lasting impact on communities; not just bricks and mortar but to encourage a sense of worth.”

Since its formation 6 months ago, the Committee had met with residents, community groups and other stakeholders in East Port-of-Spain to address issues of employment, employability, education and infrastructure. The Committee is fulfilling its mandate by working with organizations and groups to bring key resources to vulnerable communities. The communities include Beverly Hills, Beetham, Sea Lots, Second Caledonia, Never Dirty, John John, Belmont and Gonzales. The engagement with these communities have been centred around four main areas: Community Pride and Ownership; Social Support and Cohesion; Human Development and Business/Economic Development.

The Committee continues its work in the East Port of Spain area and will apprise members of the public and the media of its work in future updates. Members of the public can keep updated via the Committee’s Facebook Page – Community Recovery Committee of Trinidad and Tobago and Instagram Page – communityrecovery_ttor via phone at the Ministry of Youth Development and National Service.

About the Community Recovery Committee:

The Community Recovery Committee was established in July 2020 by Prime Minister Dr the Honourable Keith Rowley. It is tasked with the responsibility of developing and implementing “sustainable working solutions” that address issues affecting at-risk communities. The team is headed by Chairman Anthony Watkins.  Its other members are Education Minister Dr Nyan Gadsby-Dolly; Hasely Crawford; Hans Des Vignes; Nichola Harvey-Mitchell; Curtis Toussaint; Jamaal Shabazz; Dr Keron Victor and Akosua Dardaine-Edwards. The Community Recovery Committee’s Office is located at the Ministry of Youth Development and National Service.


glqxz9283 sfy39587stf02 mnesdcuix8
Error | Trinidad and Tobago Government News


The website encountered an unexpected error. Please try again later.